Spirituality and the natural world.

General discussions relating to the story.
Gary Pressman

Spirituality and the natural world.

Postby Gary Pressman » Wed Mar 06, 2013 5:20 pm

For most of my youth and middle age I worked as a Game Ranger and hunter in Southern Africa.The call of the wild is as powerfull as any drug and can be just as dangerous.The African bush has a almost hypnotic effect and often we have seen people come out on Safari,return to thier old lives,chuck it all in and return.Most of the time it works but sometimes the circling vultures and Hyena tracks show us it doesnt always.
I myself have felt the pull and the hypnotic effect of the treetops in the distance.Often grabbed a decent calibre rifle and went into the bush.Returning happy and well fed yet chastened and humble.
Like Icarus and the sun,fly too close and you will get burned.
Chris responded to a call that only through silence and listening we can hear.

PasoPedro

Re: Spirituality and the natural world.

Postby PasoPedro » Mon Nov 04, 2013 4:05 am

Gary,

I like the title of this subject thread. It would be good to discuss the relationship between nature and spirituality. Many yogis, Qi Gong masters and native peoples seek nature to find answers in their quests for enlightenment. This is very fascinating and I'd like to read what experiences others had had and/or reflections on what they think Chris might have experienced during his ordeal.