the Dangers of Hitch-Hiking??

General discussions relating to the story.
kingdomdayz777

the Dangers of Hitch-Hiking??

Postby kingdomdayz777 » Mon Apr 02, 2012 5:28 am

so i've heard from some friends who have hitch-hiked thousands of miles in the United States; they have said they have had ZERO encounters of dangerous people. no people who wanted to kill them, rape them, hurt them; nothing!!

for some reason i find that hard to believe.. (maybe i'm brainwashed by these horror movies!! hahaha)

like do certain people just get lucky? how common is it for danger to happen with people while hitch-hiking??

Wedelen64

Re: the Dangers of Hitch-Hiking??

Postby Wedelen64 » Mon Apr 02, 2012 5:17 pm

I have zero experience in hitchhiking. But I do think I can "read" people and their intentions. Hitchhiking danger is the same as the danger of swimming in the ocean and getting eaten by a shark. There may be one incident in 50 million beach goers but the horror of getting eaten makes people intantly forget that the odds of getting killed in a car accident are so much higher that there is not even a comparison to be made. Would you swim in the ocean with a bunch of bloody fish attached to you? No, that wouldn't make sense. Same with hitchhiking. Are you a petite young blonde with a smoking hot body? If the answer is "yes" then I wouldn't reccomend hitchhiking. It is all about using your brain. If you use the common sense most of us possess and you are not considered "reckless" in your day to day life then I would say the danger is minimum. Life is full of danger, if you are adventureous then the danger is negligible if you use common sense.

Pelicanpaul

Re: the Dangers of Hitch-Hiking??

Postby Pelicanpaul » Mon Jul 23, 2012 2:49 pm