Did he have Faith?!!?

Here you can discuss anything related to Christopher McCandless.
Heyzay

Did he have Faith?!!?

Postby Heyzay » Sun Nov 21, 2010 12:20 am

Hey everyone,
I'm actually watching 'Into the wild' as I type this, I'm a newbie with "super-tramp" but I find his story an intriguing one.
But what I wanted to know is if he had Faith...Faith in God?!?... Did he want to be one with nature.. one with God?!
Or Did he just want to be by himself away from civilization AND God?!?!

kfuge10

Re: Did he have Faith?!!?

Postby kfuge10 » Wed Nov 24, 2010 1:18 am

That thought came to me as well at some point while reading the book and I think it's interesting that you brought it up... It's hard to say. I would have to find some quotes from the book, and maybe you've already done this, but my assumption just from choosing the lifestyle he did would be that Chris saw, life, God, a spirit, whatever you want to call it, in everything and everyone he encountered. Just an assumption and probably a lot of my own projections but i would see this sort of experience as an attempt to connect first with oneself and then to connect with the world, most notably people and nature, maybe in an attempt to understand or just accept it... I don't know, tell me what you think! :

naturelover24

Postby naturelover24 » Wed Nov 24, 2010 7:31 pm

WOW RIGHT ON!! JAH BLESS!! why are you so awesome??!? hahaha jk great question!

umm i dont know, if you remember in the movie it talks about how Ron Franz knew that Chris had problems with the church. But I love Jesus and think todays church is wacko! all the hypocrites and routine of it, has no impact at all. It has potential to be amazing, but theres so many phonies in the church today.. or at least the ones i've been to haha! but i think, as far as the movie and book tell the story, that chris just wanted to be free from society and family, and follow is true, adventurous soul!

naturelover24

Postby naturelover24 » Wed Nov 24, 2010 7:33 pm